Tags

, ,

I REBLOG THIS TO ADD TO THE STREISAND EFFECT. Auhors should be able to speak out if they have grievances against publishers. Authors, if being unpaid, should not have to shut up. Or Artists. Or anyone. For more than a year, I’ve seen complaints of issues with payment and EC blogged about online. I am not a reader of or writer for EC, but when there is that much author complaint smoke, I’m thinking there is fire behind it. We shall see as the case progresses, unless EC drops it.  But I’m standing with the authors and with the blogger being sued. So many ways EC could have handled this–with the blogger directly. By freely opening their books to an objective 3rd party audit to prove payments were duly sent out. But instead they sue to silence a blogger and obtain the names of anonymous commenters. ANONYMOUS COMMENTERS. Yeah, that’s chilling.

My part to add to publicizing this. If Jane sets up a legal defense fund, I’ll add my pennies to the pot. I hope you will consider that, too. Or next time, it might be you as a writer in a rough spot with a publisher and no support behind you.

Hello, Streisand Effect—

Note: Please see comments for a link to the court documents…thanks, Suzan.

Her Hands, My Hands

Welcome to my little corner of the intrawebz.

I am a blogger and, among other things, I talk about things I feel passionate about. I appreciate the fact that I live in a country where freedom of speech is enshrined in the constitution. I am grateful that there are those who are willing to help other by putting their money and/or their labor where their beliefs are, and so defend everyone’s right to speak.

There are always people who would like to silence their critics and are happy to try and use the legal system to do so.

Like say, Ellora’s Cave, the subject of the very well written “The Curious Case of Ellora’s Cave”, written by Jane Litte (online name) and published in Dear Author. As I understand it, not having access to the legal documents, Tina Engler/Jaid Black, the founder of Ellora’s Cave (henceforth, EC…

View original post 318 more words

