Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been reading retold fairy tales for decades (the 80s is the earliest I recall with Tanith Lee’s RED AS BLOOD: TALES FROM THE SISTERS GRIMMER). And when I was little and watched The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show, my very fave part was the Fractured Fairy Tales, narrated by Edward Everett Horton. (You, too?)

I can’t believe I didn’t try to write one of my own reimagined fairy tales until now. I”m 54, for pete’s sake.

I had no idea it would be THIS fun. πŸ™‚ It’s soooooo fun.

And I hope it ends up as fun to read as it has been so far to imagine and write.

Now, I need to learn how to blend images in Photoshop. I have a cover I like with a basic background and the title, but I need some beasty-sexy eyes or a silhouette or something else to add to the midground. (And I am the anti-techy girl. Sigh.)

I took all of 3 or 4 minutes to toss together a cover for the NaNoWriMo book image. See below. It’s not fancy or very artistic, but the lovely background image by a DeviantArtist really helps me to see the beast lord’s realm.

Books of Magiska Enchanted Courtships  not regular Kindle cover type

NaNoWriMo cover for the 3 Novella Series

So, are you NaNo-Ing? And did you put together a cover for you NaNo-vel? Link me up so I can take a look. I’m “Mirtika” over at nanowrimo.org. πŸ˜€

Happy first drafting!