Tags

, , , , ,

I have been reading 1 Corinthians with hubby in our couple devotions, but I always read Psalms before my prayer time. Or should I say, “Before my main prayer time.” I tend to pray throughout the day, as things come to mind or people offer prayer requests.

Yesterday, it was Psalm 118 that I read aloud twice prior to prayer. It’s a powerful psalm and it is encouraging.  Allow me to share a portion:

Out of my distress I called on the Lord;
    the Lord answered me and set me free.
The Lord is on my side; I will not fear.
    What can man do to me?
The Lord is on my side as my helper;
    I shall look in triumph on those who hate me.

It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in princes.

There has been so much distressing political interchange on social media lately–well, that’s normal, right?–that it is consoling to know that my trust is not in Obama or the UN or any leaders or any person, really. My trust is principally in God, who is able to make a path in the darkest places and give hope in the most trying times.

The Lord is on my side, says the psalmist, says the Holy Spirit through the psalmist. It may not seem like an easy path, but I know that I am not alone and I have an Advocate and Helper and Comforter and Deliverer. Ultimately, as it is promised, as long as I love God and am called according to His purpose–it will all work out for the ultimate good.

It is better–better!–to trust in the LORD than to trust in governments and plans and strategies, though, surely, we should vote with wisdom and plan with shrewdness. But always…God first.

It’s hard, though, isn’t it. It’s hard sometimes to sense the holy guidance or to hear the divine Voice. It requires we are listening and following and seeking that guidance and Voice. Daily. Hourly. Habitually. Automatically, even, after years of effort.

But even when I am distracted: He is there and he is on my side.

Who are you trusting above all? Who is on your side?

