Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m doing well on the #PoemADayChallenge. I give myself from 20 minutes to an hour every day just for writing my poem. Sometimes, I have to grab the time while on the crapper, no lie. 😀

I’ll share another of my Poetry Month poems today, but first, why I chose this day’s topic.

I’ve been trying to learn a bit more about cover design (no, I am not an artist and I did not study a single class of graphic design) in the quest to make better covers for my own work. I actually am getting better using Canva (simple, free, limited), as shown by the excellent feedback from fellow writers. I’ve done dozens of practice covers already, and some for my CampNaNoWriMo efforts.

So, in honor of one of the GREAT covers of the last century, I share my poem for April 10:

April 10, 1925
(The GREAT GATSBY first published)

 

What stands out to me, still, is that vertical strip

of pale green, center left, with a dot spaced below

as if it were an exclamation point losing steam.

 

I first thought it was a printer’s flaw on the cover,

but looking closely, I saw a lonely firework shoot

skyward from the dazzling urban carnival below,

 

one not yet exploded, flying high to skewer a blue

and golden eye that pleaded even as it haunted

the world. Now, I only see the slash as a tear

 

and perhaps green for a reason: an elongated

watery reflection of Daisy’s light across the way,

more powerful than tears or fireworks, and fatal.

 

gatsby-cover

A bit of trivia about the original cover art for THE GREAT GATSBY: The goache painting was done by Francis Cugat, older brother of bandleader Xavier Cugat. (He used to be married to Charo; do you older folks recall the Coochie-Coochie gal?) The Cugat family moved to Cuba. I was born in Cuba. And the painting’s title is “Celestial Eyes.” Also, Hemingway hated the cover when Fitzgerald handed him a first printing copy, saying it looked as if it were for a bad science fiction book. Dang, Ernest.

I encourage the poetry lovers to take the challenge. One a day. Short or long. Sonnet or haiku. Rhyming or half-rhyming or free. Maybe write one about a famous book cover you love..or hate.

It’s fun. And it does get the creative juices flowing to spill over into fiction efforts.

 

Happy Monday!

